top of page

Sorbetto top challange

The Sorbetto top is apparently one of the easiest pieces for the novice sewer. It's made of only 2 pieces, it requires a few techniques, and the pattern is freely downloadable from the Colette website.

The recommended fabrics for this top are light weight to medium weight fabrics such as voile, lawn, silk, rayon challis, or polyester. Now, if you are a complete novice like myself, this list is already overwhelming. And, it doesn't help that at the store, the labels on the bolts say "100% cotton" or "95% cotton 5% spandex" only. No mention of cotton voile or lawn!

After about one hour in the clearance section and some help from a very nice sales assistant at Fabricland, I decided for a cotton fabric that seemed suitable for this project and proceeded with the cutting.

I've never used weights and it was a little challenging at first, but I do like this technique better than using pins.

I have to admit, the sewing wasn't too complicated and I already used bias tape for my previous project. It took a few days to complete, some help from a friend to adjust the fit, a very clear video on how to make decent darts (that I watched SEVERAL times) but I managed to finish my first Sorbetto top.

At the end, I'm quite happy about the learning process and the progress I made but not very satisfied about the choice of fabric. It's too stiff and I shouldn't have selected such a bright colour.

I think I'm going to wear this top in our garden or perhaps around the house in summer and with my new knowledge I will start making another Sorbetto top soon!

bottom of page