top of page

Second Sorbetto top

Making my second Sorbetto top was a real challenge but I love the way it turned out. I eliminated the front pleat, selected a very smooth fabric (100% polyester) and made two test garments (or voile or muslin) to adjust the fit.

Cutting the slippery fabric using scissors was a struggle so I finally made the switch to rotary cutter and weights. It's faster, more precise and pretty easy. I am a convert now ... no more pins!

Making the muslins and adjusting the fit was also intense and time consuming but I've learned a lot in the process. To understand some of the tricks, I watched the Craftsy class "Fitting Solo: From Measurements to Muslin" by Linda Lee. I had to make adjustments for the armholes, the shoulders and the bust area. Translating the changes from the muslin to the pattern is tricky and I'm not sure I have really understood the process. For now, I am just happy my Sorbetto top was a success and I'm waiting for the first sunny day to wear it!

bottom of page