top of page

Discovering knits


Thanks to my recent book purchase, A Beginner Guide to Sewing with Knitted Fabrics by Wendy Ward, I ventured into a complete different universe. And my first attempt turned out surprisingly well.

I selected a heavy knit with no stretch, in my favourite colour, with an interesting chevron textured pattern. The book explanations were easy to follow, from the cutting to the finishing seams and the hem. The fit wasn't an issue because of the elasticated band and the loose shape of the pattern. The fabric didn't drape as well as I expected but I really love the final shape of the skirt. It's funky, structural and so me!

I already wore the Longshaw skirt several times and styled it with different shoes and belts. It has already become a favourite piece in my handmade wardrobe!

bottom of page