top of page

Flower skirt

This skirt was a real labour of love. The fist difficulty was to match the fabric pattern for all 3 panels and cut accordingly. Then, my first invisible zipper proved to be a bit more challenging than expected. And finally, the waistband was not a joke. At the end, the skirt looked half decent but unfortunately a size too big!

Fitting is still my biggest challenge: I always follow the guidelines for my measurements and end up with huge pieces. This skirt was at least two inches too big at the waist.

But once I realised the problem, the next problem was how to fix it? In this case, I had several options: to adjust the side seams, the back seam or what else? Fortunately, my amazing friend Heather suggested altering the front pleats to reduce the waist. Great suggestion ... but in order to do that, I had to unstitch the entire skirt and start from the beginning. It only took weeks to make this pretty skirt perfect but I'm loving it!

The pattern is Burda #6836, Version B.

bottom of page